RSS Feed

FALLing into the pumpkin craze early this year!

I am OBSESSED with pumpkin. I eat it year round, but come fall I go a little crazy. Ok- a lot crazy. My friends and roommate shudder when they see pumpkins appearing in the stores, because they know that my three month pump-ka-thon is emminent. Well, this year I started a little early…and it is AWESOME! I wanted pumpkin muffins, but also pumpkin cupcakes, then I thought I wanted something crunchy..so I got to baking and just came up with this recipe which turned out really yummy! So here it is for ya:

 

For Muffins:

-2 cups yellow cake mix (The best way to sub for flour to get a fluffy, rich cake-like muffin)

-1 cup pumpkin ( I like fresh, but canned pumpkin works too, just make sure its not the pie filling)

-1/3 cup egg substitute (Or you can use 3 eggs)

-1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

-1/2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

-1 tsp cinnamon

-dash salt

For Strusel topping:

-1/4 cup flour

-2 tbsp brown sugar

-1.5 tbsp melted butter

-cinnamon to taste

Mix muffin ingredients together, adding chocolate chips last. Pour into 12 cup muffin pan, and top with strusel. Bake at 350 until done (about 30 min). EAT EAT EAT!!

 

How easy is that?

 

What’s your favorite part about fall? Food, colors changing, weather?

 

Leave a comment